Caitanya-caritamrta Changes — Full List

Changes — By on August 29, 2005 10:54 am

A complete comparison of the 1975 original edition of Srila Prabhupada’s Sri Caitanya-caritamrta with the new ISKCON/BBT revised edition highlighting all the changes.

All changes are highlighted in the following pages. This comparison is based on the original & revised versions as they are presented in the Bhaktivedanta Archives Folio. We have not yet verified if the original and revised Cc’s in the folio are exactily the same as the printed books or not.

UPDATE (December 6, 2014)

The “Original Caitanya-caritamrta” as found in the Bhaktivedanta Archives Folio 2003 on close inspection includes many changes, it is not really the original Caitanya-caritamrta. So we have updated this comparison using a verified version of Srila Prabhupada’s original 1975 Sri Caiatnya-caritamrta. While we can not guarantee everything completely 100% it is much closer to the original printed books than what we had before.

We have also done a comparison from the Caitanya-caritamrta found in the Bhaktivedanta Archives 2003 Vedabase [which is hopefully close to the current 9 Volume Bhaktivedanta Book Trust printed Sri Caitanya-caritamrta] and the version of Caitanya-caritamrta found in the 2014.1 Vedabase. From this you can see that the BBT are constantly editing Prabhupada’s books and the next printing of Caitanya-caritamrta will again be different.

Introduction: Introduction (2003-2014)

Sri Caitanya-caritamrta Adi-lila

Adi 1: The Spiritual Masters (2003-2014)
Adi 2: Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu Is the Supreme Personality of Godhead (2003-2014)
Adi 3: The External Reasons for Lord Caitanya’s Appearance (2003-2014)
Adi 4: The Confidential Reasons for Lord Caitanya’s Appearance (2003-2014)
Adi 5: The Glories of Lord Nityananda Balarama (2003-2014)
Adi 6: The Glories of Sri Advaita Acarya (2003-2014)
Adi 7: Lord Caitanya in Five Features (2003-2014)
Adi 8: The Author Receives the Orders of Krsna and Guru (2003-2014)
Adi 9: The Tree of Devotional Service (2003-2014)
Adi 10: The Trunk, Branches and Subbranches of the Caitanya Tree (2003-2014)
Adi 11: The Expansions of Lord Nityananda (2003-2014)
Adi 12: The Expansions of Advaita Acarya and Gadadhara Pandita (2003-2014)
Adi 13: The Advent of Lord Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu (2003-2014 [same])
Adi 14: Lord Caitanya’s Childhood Pastimes (2003-2014)
Adi 15: The Lord’s Pauganda-lila (2003-2014 [same])
Adi 16: The Pastimes of the Lord in His Childhood and Youth (2003-2014)
Adi 17: The Pastimes of Lord Caitanya Mahaprabhu in His Youth (2003-2014)

Sri Caitanya-caritamrta Madhya-lila

Madhya 1: The Later Pastimes of Lord Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu (2003-2014)
Madhya 2: The Ecstatic Manifestations of Lord Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu (2003-2014)
Madhya 3: Lord Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu’s Stay at the House of Advaita Acarya (2003-2014)
Madhya 4: Sri Madhavendra Puri’s Devotional Service (2003-2014)
Madhya 5: The Activities of Saksi-gopala (2003-2014)
Madhya 6: The Liberation of Sarvabhauma Bhattacarya (2003-2014)
Madhya 7: The Lord’s Tour of South India (2003-2014)
Madhya 8: Talks Between Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu and Ramananda Raya (2003-2014)
Madhya 9: Lord Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu’s Travels to the Holy Places (2003-2014)
Madhya 10: The Lord’s Return to Jagannatha Puri (2003-2014)
Madhya 11: The Beda-kirtana Pastimes of Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu (2003-2014)
Madhya 12: The Cleansing of the Gundica Temple (2003-2014)
Madhya 13: The Ecstatic Dancing of the Lord at Ratha-yatra (2003-2014)
Madhya 14: Performance of the Vrndavana Pastimes (2003-2014)
Madhya 15: The Lord Accepts Prasada at the House of Sarvabhauma Bhattacarya (2003-2014)
Madhya 16: The Lord’s Attempt to Go to Vrndavana (2003-2014)
Madhya 17: The Lord Travels to Vrndavana (2003-2014)
Madhya 18: Lord Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu’s Visit to Sri Vrndavana (2003-2014)
Madhya 19: Lord Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu Instructs Srila Rupa Gosvami (2003-2014)
Madhya 20: Lord Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu Instructs Sanatana Gosvami in the Science (2003-2014)
Madhya 21: The Opulence and Sweetness of Lord Sri Krsna (2003-2014)
Madhya 22: The Process of Devotional Service (2003-2014)
Madhya 23: Life’s Ultimate Goal–Love of Godhead (2003-2014)
Madhya 24: The Sixty-One Explanations of the Atmarama Verse (2003-2014)
Madhya 25: How All the Residents of Varanasi Became Vaisnavas (2003-2014)

Sri Caitanya-caritamrta Antya-lila

Antya 1: Srila Rupa Gosvami’s Second Meeting With the Lord (2003-2014)
Antya 2: The Chastisement of Junior Haridasa (2003-2014)
Antya 3: The Glories of Srila Haridasa Thakura (2003-2014)
Antya 4: Sanatana Gosvami Visits the Lord at Jagannatha Puri (2003-2014)
Antya 5: How Pradyumna Misra Received Instructions from Ramananda Raya (2003-2014)
Antya 6: The Meeting of Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu and Raghunatha dasa Gosvami (2003-2014)
Antya 7: The Meeting of Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu and Vallabha Bhatta (2003-2014)
Antya 8: Ramacandra Puri Criticizes the Lord (2003-2014 [same])
Antya 9: The Deliverance of Gopinatha Pattanayaka (2003-2014)
Antya 10: Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu Accepts Prasada from the Devotees (2003-2014)
Antya 11: The Passing of Haridasa Thakura (2003-2014)
Antya 12: The Loving Dealings Between Lord Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu and Jagadananda (2003-2014)
Antya 13: Pastimes with Jagadananda Pandita and Raghunatha Bhatta Gosvami (2003-2014)
Antya 14: Lord Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu’s Feelings of Separation from Krsna (2003-2014 [same])
Antya 15: The Transcendental Madness of Lord Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu (2003-2014)
Antya 16: Lord Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu Tastes Nectar from the Lips of Lord Sri Krsna (2003-2014)
Antya 17: The Bodily Transformations of Lord Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu (2003-2014 [same])
Antya 18: Rescuing the Lord from the Sea (2003-2014 [same])
Antya 19: The Inconceivable Behavior of Lord Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu (2003-2014)
Antya 20: The Siksastaka Prayers (2003-2014)


You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment